Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting The Spar. We'd love to have your feedback!

Tacoma

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to The Spar and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Mccarthykevin 17 days ago

Original Spar Chips

If there's one thing I will never not order, its the spar chips. I always purposely order extra so I have some to bring home. Friends from out of town tried them and became obsessed, they still talk about them weeks later. Crispy, simple, and delicious.

Sabrinashep253 19 days ago

Fish Tacos

The fish tacos are delicious! Highly recommend. (The mahi tacos are great too!)

Jmiller 19 days ago

Chicken & Jos

I think I came to the Spar about 30 years ago and had the chicken an jo's for the first time. Since then I have had enough chicken to decimate the hen house. I have replaced the jo's with spar chips in the last few years because I had a heavenly vision. God was right. The chips are divine.

Rplant 26 days ago

Beer Battered Prawns

I ordered the steamed clams which were excellent! And a beer on draft. This is a great cafe with a wonderful view! I love the building. So much history here! Love the hardwood floors and exposed brick. My server was attentive but not overbearing. This place is a gem in Tacoma. Would definitely come back!

Mlind2015 28 days ago

Totchos

In about 1200AD the Polynesian peoples reached nearly all of the Pacific islands. One Island these explorers missed was this Volcanic Mountain of Tots. Known for its streams of melted cheese, piles of bacon thrown among the countryside, and mountain tops covered in sour cream, this Volcanic island is a treasure for adventure seekers. Combining the world's two greatest apps: tots and nachos, we have finally reached peak civilization. Napoleon Dynamite would be proud.

Rosemachinedd about 1 month ago

Mushroom Swiss Burger*

Actually crave this burger. The biggest thing is that it doesn't get messy. The bun is perfect. I love the real leaf lettuce (not iceburg), Pretty big burger too.

J about 1 month ago

French Dip

The French Dip was terrific with real roast beef not sandwich meat. Have also tried the Meditrainian Plate it was excellent.

Liz 3 months ago

Basket of Tots

So delicious! Everything was as expected. Great service, would go back again and again.

Thegame0316 3 months ago

Fish Tacos

Love eating local, and this a great spot with great food, good drinks, and top notch service.

Kaitlyn 3 months ago

2 Mahi - Mahi Tacos

Love the tacos! Mahi mahi is my favorite, and these ones definitely get a 5 star review!

Thovsenbritt 4 months ago

Onion rings

The best onion rings in Tacoma. Not soggy with grease, but a true crispy beer battered sweet red onion on the inside. You can bite in and not pull the onion out. Bite for bite, it is an enjoyment to eat, and maybe share. Na, just tell them to get their own basket! Don't forget the tartar for dippin'!

Swpifer 4 months ago

Spar Gumbo

The absolute best. New Orleans doesn't know gumbo compared to these guys!

Scott 4 months ago

Panko Crusted Alaskan Halibut

Best fish and chips in Tacoma, hands down.

Melody 5 months ago

Spar Gumbo

The only place west of New Orleans for excellent gumbo! This is the only menu item I ever order. I've tasted my friend's halibut and found it to be excellent, but I can't pass up the gumbo!

Jared 5 months ago

Basket of Tots

Love the tots with siracha ketchup but i added ranch too and its great

Gloriafordmaui 5 months ago

Basket of Tots

Basket O tots is amazing!!! Crispy on the outside. Just the way its done

Mford812 5 months ago

Fried Zucchini Chips

Friendly staff, excellent service and love the live band nights! The fried zucchini chips are a family favorite.

Catieasmith 6 months ago

Fish Tacos

While I like to try new things, I come here specifically for the fish tacos. The meat is always soft and juicy, and when accompanied by the crunch of the cabbage and the spice of the aoli, it's a perfectly balanced treat. It's a fish lovers comfort food and the portions are just right. Well, almost... there's always room to pair it with a nice summer ale ;) We love The Spar and the Old Town/Home Town feeling it gives.

Anna 6 months ago

Chicken & Jos

So good and such a great first experience! The wait was shorter than expected, the service was great, and the food was delicious. The sauce that comes with these is bangin'!

Judy 6 months ago

Beer Battered Alaskan Cod

This the absolute best fish of anywhere. Had the Spar chips with it. Too die for! Having been going for years never a bad meal!

Diekensadie 17 days ago

Mediterranean Plate

First of all, I love the spar. I have been coming here for years and years and it has NEVER disappointed. It's my favorite place in Tacoma. First time trying the Mediterranean plate and it was very fresh and delicious. My grandma also tried the Mediterranean plate and she really enjoyed it. Overall I am extremely satisfied with this bar and always look forward to coming here.

Olyjlm 19 days ago

2 Mahi - Mahi Tacos

Mahi tacos, salmon pita and oh those fries! We always enjoy a visit to The Spar.

Rmorson526 23 days ago

Grilled Salmon Pita

new to the area and have had several meals from the Spar, all of which have been fresh, hot, and delicious. The grilled salmon pita is especially tasty as is the gyro, grilled chicken salads, tots, fried zucchini, the list goes on! Quick and friendly service as well!

Williamfsmith22 27 days ago

Chicken & Jos

Moist, unique delicious. I love the home made sauce for the Jo Jo potatoes, I have never finished a whole order. But great left overs!

Annalise 28 days ago

Wisconsin Cheese Curds

Think of the best mozzarella sticks you've ever had and multiply that times ten. That's what the cheese curds are-heavenly bits of Wisconsin cheese that melt in your mouth. As a Southerner who was skeptical of anything different than a normal mozzarella stick, I didn't know what to expect. The cheese curds did not disappoint, and you won't ever want to go back to regular mozzarella sticks.

Donnakeller3 about 1 month ago

Bacon Cheeseburger Sliders

There my favorite, just enough when you don't want a Big Hamburger

Akrobino91 about 2 months ago

French Dip

This french dip is amazingly good.. alot of places try to make a good french dip. But Spar's stands out. If you want try a great dip. Try this one.

James 3 months ago

Mahi Tacos

Absolutely love these Mahi fishing tacos. Outstandingly good.

Abigail 3 months ago

Chicken & Jos

I love this fried chicken. The breading is so well done and fairly unique as far as fried chicken goes. I don't know if you would find this fried Chicken anywhere else. It's ate a large meal for one person and I found myself taking half of it home. wrapping it up in aluminum foil and reheating it in the oven as a leftover made it twice as delicious. this was one of the few things I had an appetite for when I was going through chemotherapy.

Serinahood 3 months ago

Hummus

It was superb! Exactly what I needed to support a healthy plant based diet- fresh crisp veggies, tender warm pita, creamy garlic infused hummus & tangy olives. Yum!

Khoward10590 4 months ago

Tuna Melt

BEST TUNA MELT IN TACOMA! Some people have a favorite "must try at every restaurant if it's on their menu." Mine is the tuna melt. The Spar has it DOWN. It's not too mayo-y, and full of flavor! Perfect crunch and it's warm and so delicious!!

Cdabney 4 months ago

Fish Tacos

Superb as always! Good quality food with great service. Fun atmosphere and wonderful view!

Blbretz1028 4 months ago

Chicken & Jos

Burgers, Fried Chicken and Jo's. Both AWSOME!!! The Frie chicken is the BEST in Tacoma!!!

William 5 months ago

Beer Battered Prawns

The best prawns I've ever had and a huge portion!

Chockman18 5 months ago

Chicken & Jos

The flavor of this chicken is superb! The outer crispy crunch as you bite into tender juicy chicken....ahh. The thick cut jojo's round out this amazing dish!

Nyree 5 months ago

Chicken & Jos

Spar's Chicken and Jos are the best in town, I love this place, the atmosphere, service and view are stellar

Mford812 5 months ago

French Dip

Delicious and lots of flavor!

Joshua 6 months ago

Veggie Pita Sandwich

The Veggies Pita Sandwich hits the spot. Its a great vegetarian option.

Jim 6 months ago

Fishwich

Best fishwich ever, add provolone. Yum..

Brianliseolsen 7 months ago

Chicken Salad

The chicken salad is fresh and delicious. Perfectly cooked chicken, fresh, crispy veggies, yummy garlic toast! A delicious light meal that pairs perfectly with a Spar beverage of your choice!!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA