Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting The Spar. We'd love to have your feedback!

Tacoma

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to The Spar and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Liz 15 days ago

Basket of Tots

So delicious! Everything was as expected. Great service, would go back again and again.

Thegame0316 28 days ago

Fish Tacos

Love eating local, and this a great spot with great food, good drinks, and top notch service.

Kaitlyn about 1 month ago

2 Mahi - Mahi Tacos

Love the tacos! Mahi mahi is my favorite, and these ones definitely get a 5 star review!

Thovsenbritt about 1 month ago

Onion rings

The best onion rings in Tacoma. Not soggy with grease, but a true crispy beer battered sweet red onion on the inside. You can bite in and not pull the onion out. Bite for bite, it is an enjoyment to eat, and maybe share. Na, just tell them to get their own basket! Don't forget the tartar for dippin'!

Swpifer about 2 months ago

Spar Gumbo

The absolute best. New Orleans doesn't know gumbo compared to these guys!

Scott 2 months ago

Panko Crusted Alaskan Halibut

Best fish and chips in Tacoma, hands down.

Melody 2 months ago

Spar Gumbo

The only place west of New Orleans for excellent gumbo! This is the only menu item I ever order. I've tasted my friend's halibut and found it to be excellent, but I can't pass up the gumbo!

Jared 2 months ago

Basket of Tots

Love the tots with siracha ketchup but i added ranch too and its great

Gloriafordmaui 3 months ago

Basket of Tots

Basket O tots is amazing!!! Crispy on the outside. Just the way its done

Mford812 3 months ago

Fried Zucchini Chips

Friendly staff, excellent service and love the live band nights! The fried zucchini chips are a family favorite.

Catieasmith 4 months ago

Fish Tacos

While I like to try new things, I come here specifically for the fish tacos. The meat is always soft and juicy, and when accompanied by the crunch of the cabbage and the spice of the aoli, it's a perfectly balanced treat. It's a fish lovers comfort food and the portions are just right. Well, almost... there's always room to pair it with a nice summer ale ;) We love The Spar and the Old Town/Home Town feeling it gives.

Anna 4 months ago

Chicken & Jos

So good and such a great first experience! The wait was shorter than expected, the service was great, and the food was delicious. The sauce that comes with these is bangin'!

Judy 4 months ago

Beer Battered Alaskan Cod

This the absolute best fish of anywhere. Had the Spar chips with it. Too die for! Having been going for years never a bad meal!

Mmwells 5 months ago

Beer Battered Alaskan Cod

Really great cod and chips. We also ordered bacon cheese burgers and a cobb salad. All in our party enjoyed their lunch. And food was ready for pickup when promised.

Phil 5 months ago

Beer Battered Alaskan Cod

Seriously fantastic! Just the right amount of crunch with the flavor. 10/10 will order again.

Suemosich 5 months ago

Veggie Pita Sandwich

The Spar makes the best veggie pita in Tacoma! The humus is very tasty and the veggies are fresh and crisp.

Vlives4health 5 months ago

Beer Battered Alaskan Cod

I had great service I ordered the beer battered Alaskan Cod 4 dinner I had to order takeout because of the situation going on in the world but I enjoyed my meal I hope one day to come back and sit down and enjoy a nice drink and maybe an appetizer... but I will be back soon for another take out thank U Virginia

Haileycasida 5 months ago

Panko Crusted Alaskan Halibut

The spar chips, the fish and chips and the chicken plus the atmosphere and the staff has been bringing my family back. Everyone is so friendly the food is consistently great and we can't wait to come back when they are taking dine ins

Newtonal15 5 months ago

Chicken & Jos

Portions are as ample as the chicken was juicy. Fried golden brown with a beautiful crunch that you not only hear but feel. Jojos seasoned womderfully and cooked just right. Fluffly on the inside with a slight snap when you bight into them.

Maurveenf 6 months ago

2 Mahi - Mahi Tacos

OH my gosh!!! I have been coming to the Spar for so many years and miss living in the Northend so I cannot get there very often. The Mahi was fresh and just spicy enough little Tacos! Having a little party in my mouth! So GOOOO!!!!

James 24 days ago

Mahi Tacos

Absolutely love these Mahi fishing tacos. Outstandingly good.

Abigail about 1 month ago

Chicken & Jos

I love this fried chicken. The breading is so well done and fairly unique as far as fried chicken goes. I don't know if you would find this fried Chicken anywhere else. It's ate a large meal for one person and I found myself taking half of it home. wrapping it up in aluminum foil and reheating it in the oven as a leftover made it twice as delicious. this was one of the few things I had an appetite for when I was going through chemotherapy.

Serinahood about 1 month ago

Hummus

It was superb! Exactly what I needed to support a healthy plant based diet- fresh crisp veggies, tender warm pita, creamy garlic infused hummus & tangy olives. Yum!

Khoward10590 about 2 months ago

Tuna Melt

BEST TUNA MELT IN TACOMA! Some people have a favorite "must try at every restaurant if it's on their menu." Mine is the tuna melt. The Spar has it DOWN. It's not too mayo-y, and full of flavor! Perfect crunch and it's warm and so delicious!!

Cdabney 2 months ago

Fish Tacos

Superb as always! Good quality food with great service. Fun atmosphere and wonderful view!

Blbretz1028 2 months ago

Chicken & Jos

Burgers, Fried Chicken and Jo's. Both AWSOME!!! The Frie chicken is the BEST in Tacoma!!!

William 2 months ago

Beer Battered Prawns

The best prawns I've ever had and a huge portion!

Chockman18 3 months ago

Chicken & Jos

The flavor of this chicken is superb! The outer crispy crunch as you bite into tender juicy chicken....ahh. The thick cut jojo's round out this amazing dish!

Nyree 3 months ago

Chicken & Jos

Spar's Chicken and Jos are the best in town, I love this place, the atmosphere, service and view are stellar

Mford812 3 months ago

French Dip

Delicious and lots of flavor!

Joshua 4 months ago

Veggie Pita Sandwich

The Veggies Pita Sandwich hits the spot. Its a great vegetarian option.

Jim 4 months ago

Fishwich

Best fishwich ever, add provolone. Yum..

Brianliseolsen 4 months ago

Chicken Salad

The chicken salad is fresh and delicious. Perfectly cooked chicken, fresh, crispy veggies, yummy garlic toast! A delicious light meal that pairs perfectly with a Spar beverage of your choice!!

Lo 5 months ago

Reuben

The Spar's Reuben is one of the best I've ever had! I can't wait to get back inside for another Reuben and IPA while listening to some phenomenal live music.

Ericapeto 5 months ago

Hummus

We love the hummus plate and get it every time we go to the Spar. The hummmus and the pitas are soft and tasty. It is fun to make little stacks of goodness to eat from all the yummy ingredients on the plate!

Kgraupensperger 5 months ago

Reuben

Crispy outside, packed full of yum on the inside. Great balance of ingredients. A zingy sauce with horseradish!

Robert 5 months ago

Panko Crusted Alaskan Halibut

My wife & I are doing our best to support local restaurants during the pandemic. We live close to the Spar and genuinely enjoy the food, drink and the people!

Sensiemo 5 months ago

Beer Battered Alaskan Cod

Best fish and chips in town

Ejayodonnell 6 months ago

2 Mahi - Mahi Tacos

I get fish tacos a lot, and Spar has one of my absolute favorite fish tacos! 5/5!! No one competes with the fish tacos!!

Familyclark4 6 months ago

Basket of Original Spar Chips

Spar Chips and a beer is the best way to spend an afternoon!!!!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA